Hometap reviews

Hometap

Hometap loans review

Reviews: 51 • Rating: 4/5

It's free and won't affect your credit score.

Reviews

Jan 9, 2009
Matthew

Hometap review

My experience with Hometap, and particularly Max Campion at Hometap, has been nothing short of life changing. I began researching equity share businesses across summer 2017. I am a small business owner with approx $400k equity in my home. I was originally looking to pay off debt but did not enjoy the idea of a refinance due to its effect on DTI and monthly cashflow. I came across Patch homes and after many calls and emails for them, I was almost willing to pull on the trigger. I saw an ad for Hometap, and it was a game changer. Should you do your research you will see that their equity share is structured by both businesses differently. Patch sets a risk adjusted home worth (usually around 15%) and starts the clock from there. If your house appraises for $700k they say the worth is 595k. Then they take their talk of appreciated value when you either refinance or refinance within a 10 year term (their % share is based on your credit and DTI review as well as your home's assessed value). Hometap instead, takes the actual assessed value and after that they base their commission share on the future value of the total home, in just a ten year period, again upon purchase or refinance to pay them back (with their percent share also based on charge, DTI and assessed value). For my situation, both companies were competitive with each other when you do the math. BUT, the HUGE differentiator, is that Hometap's contract takes above $10k, and then enables you to deduct the estimated appreciation based on the improvement. So if I build an improvement and it cost me $80k, also in ten years that it's estimated to have added $150k worth to the home, Hometap will take their percentage share in the Total Home value MINUS the $150k I put in. I went from paying off my debt, to now having the ability to take out additional cash that will allow additions to be made by me but I keep the charge for. Long story short, with Hometap I was able to both pay off all my debt AND get enough cash to build a rental space which will bring me in income. If I tried to do the move they would essentially have lent me money, then made more money from me improving the home, since they don't give credit for developments. I'd also like to add that this movement could be impossible with a refinance in my situation - I simply would not have qualified to carry enough cash out. It was a game changer, a no brainer and , no competition. Aside from the financials, the service level of Hometap was TOP SHELF. I'd put it a couple notches higher than ala BMW, maybe Bentley. Like, focus levels. My investment manager Max Campion was a complete rock star. I likely asked upwards of 50 + inquiries over the duration of two weeks and am a person. And he hung with me . Max not only answered my inquiries, but did so promptly and even during hours since I'm in Los Angeles and he is in Boston. Once I needed a fast answer, he responded on his vacation to me. Only top shelf level focus. In contrast, Patch had me bouncing around to 4 distinct people to get answers never responding to my questions. It was like day and night. Overall everyone's situation is different so do your research and ask questions; but for me with the amount of equity I had stored up, working with Hometap was life changing. Highly recommended!

Jun 6, 2019
Donna Maclean

Hometap review

Hometap.com supplies a service to individuals like me. A good deal of equity and unable to get it. As a result of Hometap that I am in a position to pay off all my high interest credit card debt. The actual beauty is I do not have to pay a dime before I sell the house. Max made the process professional, easy, clear and friendly. My only regret is that I didn't do it sooner and save a good deal of credit card interest. If you are asset rich but cash poor and can not be eligible for a Heloc don't hesitate. Hometap and people there like you understand precisely what you're doing and getting you will help through it. I could not be more happy with my decision to go together.

Jan 8, 2001
Jmallon

Hometap review

Happy to discover this provider. Like others have said, the process is easy and easy. Worked with Dan Amato, who had been honest, very patient and transparent with all the answers to the many questions I had. It's a different and new product in Home Equity, and it had been important to me that I understood the concept and the advantages and drawbacks. Ultimately Dan answered all of my questions honestly and was able to help me with making. Straightforward than any HELOC application I've ever gone through. Great idea, and an simple, honest company. If it's a good fit for your circumstances, you may enjoy working with hometap.com.

Apr 10, 2019
David

Hometap review

I was quite dubious of the idea but was given straight answers, clear explanations each discussion. I had been told when I should expect them to occur what the steps were and that happened as proposed every time. I never felt rushed or pushed when I had time to examine the trade along with my wife there was no"earnings push". Appraiser came on schedule, completed and the report was in within days, not weeks. Final that is scheduled is seven days from approval. This system works for our fiscal situation and it is a perfect fit for what we needed. Thank you Dan!

Jan 5, 2001
Karen Gibbons

Hometap review

My husband thought we should use for a home equity loan from Hometap. I was somewhat skeptical even after researching their site and inquiring Dan Amato lots of questions. Dan's answer to concerns and my questions have been answered with professionalism and understanding. I then was not a hundred percent on board with this house equity loan that is untraditional. Dan helped us through the loan process and we were closed and approved on the loan in roughly two calendar weeks. I am very pleased with Hometap and Dan and will highly recommend them to other people.

Oct 5, 2019
Eb

Hometap review

Fantastic experience. I worked. He walked me so I had no reservations about using the company and all that working with Hometap entails. I'd suggest to people like me who are house a HELOC is not the best option, in which refinance doesn't always work and/or. It's a great alternative to the more traditional ways of getting the equity. This is the thing to do if you are responsible with your finances. I suggest anyone to investigate and see all of the options if you're thinking about taking the HELOC route this firm has to give. This may be the better choice.

Sep 1, 2019
Christina Thompson

Hometap review

I was relieved to find an organization that could help me maintain my property. I had credit card debt that is bad and I am disabled so my income is too low for loans or refinancing. Bankruptcy because of my house equity could not file but had no way to get it done. I dropped 26 percent of my house but at least I still have my home and don't have to sell my house. I am so thankful this business managed to help me stay in my home. I was disappointed with the evaluation but it was a third party so nothing hometap.com could do.

Jan 7, 2005
James Cain

Hometap review

It had been nothing, but delight working with Dan Amato and the Hometap team. I had a money problem and they'd my solution. Was it easy and friendly, but they also enabled me to find a problem in my Home Report. It turned out that my solar loan company had put another clients loan lien against my house. They helped in getting it straightened out. I appreciate everything they've done they saved my house and my life. Therefore, if you are in a fiscal spot like I had been. Go into Hometap for your solution.

Jan 5, 2003
Jason Wiesner

Hometap review

Even though the cost is exorbitant, Max Campion was upfront & honest about all Hometap's associated fees and forced the process of giving up a part of our equity as enjoyable as it could be considering the circumstances. I managed to pay off all debt, decreasing my monthly payments for the down payment help he gave me and pay my father back! If you are in a unique circumstance where a a Hometap investment is right for you, it can be good option, as it was for us. Thank you Max for everything!

Dec 2, 2019
Eric

Hometap review

My Hometap experience was great every step of the way. Though I had a ton of equity within my house, other admiration companies were not able to deliver on their marketing promises. Hometap was even able to enhance their offer following the evaluation came back higher than the original estimate. Customer service is top notch, and Dan kept me in the loop every step of the way. It is such a refreshing change of pace to work with real professionals.

Jan 10, 2005
Reynard

Hometap review

I thought this would take a very long time to get through. I was wrong! From begin to finish I would say it took a total of two weeks! Would of been if I didn't have to work! The process was straight forward, everything was laid out for you to see, would reassuring words, & when I had any issues or concerns. Thank you Hometap, I now have some way of having another payment to pay or getting without adding a 2nd mortgage.

Jan 4, 2004
Rob Matthews

Hometap review

I like the Business HomeTap is in.

They're fulfilling an unmet need getting an excellent return on their investment and carrying some risk. My Acct director Dan Amato has been a pleasure to use, I recommend him highly. Dan was receptive, professional and that which did happen in the time line such as the disbursement of funds. The reason I am giving 4 rather than 5 stars is that the final charges. Dan is a 5/5

Jul 7, 2019
Ben

Hometap review

Dan Amato was fantastic throughout the whole procedure. He was patient, helpful and he made the process forward. I think this company is found an answer that a lot of home owners are currently looking for in the equity world. I'd suggest to anyone that needs to access some of their equity out without having to deal with the conventional equity loans that deal with interest rates, payments and income verification etc..

Jan 5, 2003
Tony Corey

Hometap review

I was very pleased to find Hometap as an alternative way to use the equity I have in my house but I had concerns and questions. Dan Amato was one reason and was fantastic to use I decided to go with Hometap as apposed to the few other companies specializing in this relatively new business model of shared home investment. He was very receptive to my calls and answered my queries. Thanks again Dan and Hometap!

Jan 2, 2009
Phil

Hometap review

Working with Dan on my Hometap made the experience a breeze. It felt like a tap dancing all the way to the finish line. He was clear on explanations and his communication. It really couldn't have been a much better finish. They shut when they said they'd and followed through they stated. He didn't yank my chain! I wished I owned two houses so that I could be completely tapped out!

Aug 8, 2019
Gary

Hometap review

Initially we believed that Home tap wasn't a fantastic company,but after we researched and researched we found them to be true and also a respectable firm in. They answered any questions we assured us about exactly what they do and walked through the process and had. They were very friendly and considerate. They gave us help if it was needed and were very understanding.

Feb 6, 2019
Sofia Maxman

Hometap review

Couple of months ago I closed my hometap equity loan. It was a long process due to some complications on my Home name and procedure of locating holiday home at Cape Cod. Dan Amato was very helpful and answered all questions and concerns I had. Hometap is a great solution for people like me where conventional financing allows you to take money and doesn't work.

May 8, 2019
JAMES Garasz

Hometap review

Max at Hometap had every ready within a couple of weeks and did a fantastic job answering all my questions! Fantastic customer service! After I had been approved, Max contacted me at 10:30 by email! There is not too many companies out there that will go that extra mile to fulfill a client! 5 stars all of the way. Jim G. Brandon, FL.

Jan 10, 2009
Bernie

Hometap review

A mortgage broker who new situation and future plans actually brought to my attention equity sharing. I researched several different businesses and decided to go with Hometap. The experience from begin to finish was easy and Max Campion made it possible. I would recommend anybody to take a look.

Jan 10, 2019
Anna B.

Hometap review

It was a really smooth process with Zach and the Hometap team. Even with a few bumps in the road, Zach and the Hometap team were always there to walk you through it and problem resolve. We are currently awaiting our funding but happy to have only closed on an equity sharing bargain.

Mar 10, 2019
AndyC

Hometap review

HomeTap came for me. They helped to make sure the process was fair and clear. Dan Amato was amazing, he provided a solution which will benefit me and my financial objectives and worked to ensure where I had been in the process, I knew step by step. I would advise contacting them.

Aug 4, 2019
Kristine

Hometap review

I worked with Dan Amato to close Hometap's investment in my home in San Francisco.

Dan was thorough, educated and friendly. Everything proceeded such as my receipt of the funds that Dan set out, to the specific timeline. Hometap was the ideal choice in my circumstance.

Dec 2, 2019
Susan Williams

Hometap review

Hometap helped me out when I didn't think I could find help. Max is a gem. Very personable, very professional, and he understood completely what I wanted. He answered all of my questions making everything crystal clear. I would recommend Hometap to anyone and everybody.

Dec 6, 2019
Daniel Callahan

Hometap review

Dan Amato was fantastic to use. He was more proactive in communicating, took the time to describe everything in terms , constantly called when planned, and was patient and answered all my questions. This is a process and would recommend Dan and hometap.com to anyone!

Oct 1, 2019
Rebecca L.

Hometap review

Hometap is your preferred partner in house equity sharing. From start to financing, they repeated questions and walk you through it, answering important. The funding and program process is compact and they work weekends and evenings for your benefit.

Jan 10, 2009
C. D. Miramontes

Hometap review

I appreciated the patience and service that I received from Maxwell Campion. He kept me updated on the way and explained every step of this process. As we were in different time zones being that he made himself available to use my schedule.

Apr 10, 2019
Jj

Hometap review

From the start to finish Hometap was a pleasure to use. The communication was excellent and the response instant. This is a business that is the model of professionalism and respect. You can feel comfortable being a spouse with these men

Jan 6, 2003
Stephen Myrick

Hometap review

Easy investment group to use. They have aggressive offers and give a fantastic alternative. They have been always very quickly to respond to emails and my questions. Dan provided us customer service that exceeded our expectations.

Jan 7, 2001
Mark and Sophie

Hometap review

Dan was great! He made the procedure easy that was super and was extremely beneficial. Dan made the procedure seamless was quite prompt in all communications! Our expertise was positive and might urge HomeTap for sure!

Jul 5, 2019
B GerardG

Hometap review

Although we decided not to move forward with the Hometap solution I would recommend that you consider as an alternative. The process for seeking approval was backed by Max who walked us, easy to comprehend, and simple.

Jan 10, 2008
Ben

Hometap review

The procedure was very straightforward. Zach was really helpful and clear in answering all our questions. Being able to access some of the equity in our house will help us as our small business grows.

Sep 1, 2019
Elliott Cragen

Hometap review

The cash can be costly, about as large as credit cards, but the principal and interest stems from the heap of money when you sell your house (or refinance). So it is like borrowing from future self.

Dec 2, 2019
Robert Badore

Hometap review

You want to be transparent and clean with all requirements during the application process. For Example in my situation the email said something while the outcome was totally different

Jan 10, 2005
Marian

Hometap review

Dan Amato is greet . He explained everything to me so I would understand the entire process in the begging to finish. To get the money want hometap was the best option for me.

Jan 5, 2000
Wayne Litton

Hometap review

Total integrity and follow thru at every step. No pressure ever. More of what will work to them not for us. And Max is a total professional, listener and problem solver.

Oct 9, 2019
Kate R.

Hometap review

Zach kept us informed every step along the way and answered any questions we had with clear explanations. He made the process completely personalized and painless.

Jan 5, 2008
Kristine

Hometap review

I am now a repeat client on my home - I am going back to school, so HomeTap is a great solution for me. The procedure was smoother and quicker the next time.

Jan 7, 2001
Georgia morrissey

Hometap review

The process was so simple and Dan Amato has been a pleasure. This was much easier than going the traditional home equity path. I would recommend to anyone.

May 11, 2019
John

Hometap review

Hometap.com was excellent in telling us and all went. Your rep, Zach was quite personable and very valuable. I would advise using them.

Nov 11, 2019
Joe

Hometap review

I had the pleasure of dealing with Dan Amato and he had been very informative through the entire matter Thank you Dan you're awesome.

Nov 10, 2019
Marian

Hometap review

Excellent Encounter with Hometap.

I would highly recommend it to anybody. Max is amazing to work with.

May 11, 2019
Susan

Hometap review

Dan is patient and educated. Easy to speak with and personable. Home Tap is easy to navigate.

Jan 9, 2003
Anonymous

Hometap review

Very efficient and easy procedure, start to finish. Max Campion was great to work with.

Aug 7, 2019
Ashley Clary

Hometap review

Dan was very useful, procedure was fast and simple. highly recommend!

Jan 5, 2005
Richard Anderson

Hometap review

Made it very easy and got back to me and kept me Advised

Sep 1, 2019
Dave Van Waldick

Hometap review

Great experience. Communication that is excellent, process.

Sep 1, 2019
John McIntyre

Hometap review

The team at Hometap was responsive and great to work with!

Jan 8, 2008
Wes Thierry

Hometap review

Took longer than I thought, However, Fulfilled

Jan 7, 2002
Joseph Martin

Hometap review

Outstanding Process!

Clear cut at start .

Jan 9, 2003
Adrian

Hometap review

Excellent product and service

Hometap Business Loans

Hometap lets you tap into tomorrow's home value, today - without having to take out a loan or make monthly payments. Hometap is an investor - not a lender - providing qualified homeowners a new way to fund important opportunities including renovations, small businesses, debt repayment and education.


Website:
hometap.com


Contact:

800 Boylston Street
Boston
02199
United States
617-399-0609
[email protected]